• news banner 2

Lavin Speaker News

The latest headlines from our world-changing keynote speakers

web communities | Feb 5th, 2012

Jessica Jackley and Reza Aslan on Social Change Through Social Media

Lavin speakers Reza Aslan and Jessica Jackley recently delivered a joint keynote at Georgia Southern University on the social web's remarkable ability to build communities and incite social change. Jackley is the co-founder of KIVA, the world’s largest microlending website. Aslan is the founder of... Continue Reading →
new speaker | Jan 30th, 2012

Obama's Former Body Man, Reggie Love, on Leadership and Politics

The Lavin Agency is pleased to announce as our newest speaker Reggie Love—a young man who, over the past four years, has arguably spent more time with President Barack Obama than anyone else on earth. Love held the highly coveted role of Obama’s body man, a position The New York Times describes as "... Continue Reading →
group rethink | Jan 26th, 2012

Jonah Lehrer: Brainstorming Doesn't Work, But Criticism Does

In a major New Yorker story this week, neuroscience speaker Jonah Lehrer writes about what helps, and what hinders, the creation of new ideas. In his typically accessible and thoroughly researched approach, Lehrer takes down a boardroom staple: the brainstorm. In his debunking of brainstorming's... Continue Reading →
web culture | Jan 25th, 2012

Rise of the Amateurs: Lev Grossman on YouTube's Battle with Traditional TV

In this week’s issue of TIME, tech writer Lev Grossman has an eye-opening piece on the growth of YouTube and its battle to replace television sets as the viewing destination of choice. Every minute, a whopping 60 hours of video are uploaded to YouTube, a site that Google paid $1.65 billion for in 20... Continue Reading →
regrow the planet | Jan 24th, 2012

Mitchell Joachim's Vision of Smarter Cars & Greener Cities

Please welcome our new speaker Mitchell Joachim, an architect, designer, and TED Fellow whose projects are redefining our built environment and helping usher in the green cities of the 21st century. Joachim's vision is of a future where cities aren't just environmentally neutral—they're... Continue Reading →
economics | Jan 19th, 2012

Why Nations Fail Is One of the Most Highly-Praised Books of 2012

Harvard's James Robinson and MIT's Daron Acemoglu are set to release Why Nations Fail—a gargantuan book in the tradition of Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs, and Steel that explores why some nations are rich while others are poor. They boldly argue that strong institutions, and not geography, lead to... Continue Reading →
history of debt | Jan 18th, 2012

Film Version of Margaret Atwood's Payback Debuts at Sundance

The documentary film version of Margaret Atwood's highly-regarded non-fiction book, Payback: Debt and the Shadow Side of Wealth, makes its world premiere at The Sundance Film Festival this month. The just-released trailer shows the project continues in the spirit of exploring “debt” through various... Continue Reading →
internet shutdown | Jan 17th, 2012

Wikipedia's Sue Gardner Explains Day of Online Protest

"We want the Internet to remain free and open, everywhere, for everyone," writes Wikimedia Foundation Director Sue Gardner. It's her way of explaining why, today, visitors to Wikipedia are being met with an unfamiliar black screen in place of whatever factual tidbit they were expecting to find. That... Continue Reading →
social media | Jan 16th, 2012

You Are What You Tweet: Amber Mac on Personal Online Branding

“U R What You Tweet.” So says social media speaker Amber Mac in her latest Fast Company article about navigating the potentially treacherous—but rewarding—terrain of building an online personal brand. It’s a hot topic for 2012, and Amber, a TV host, consultant and bestselling author, offers five... Continue Reading →
neuroscience | Jan 11th, 2012

The Fragile Teenage Brain: Jonah Lehrer on Concussions in Sports

In a recent Grantland article, neuroscience speaker Jonah Lehrer looks at one of the most wrenching issues in modern sports: concussions. Only recently has the severity of sports-related brain injuries been brought to public attention, illuminated by, among other things, advances in neuroscience.... Continue Reading →
1 213 214 215 216 217 241